Welcome to Branch Rickey Award

The Branch Rickey Award, an esteemed annual accolade in Major League Baseball (MLB), recognizes individuals for their exceptional community service efforts. Named after Branch Rickey, a renowned player and executive who broke the major league colour barrier by signing Jackie Robinson, this prestigious award honours those who exemplify a commitment to both the sport and the community.

Throughout its existence from 1992 to 2014, the Branch Rickey Award celebrated remarkable individuals who made a significant impact off the field. These winners dedicated their time and resources to various charitable causes, with a particular emphasis on helping children in need. Their philanthropic endeavours have left a lasting impression on the baseball community and beyond.

Notable awardees

  • Todd Stottlemyre
  • Jamie Moyer
  • John Smoltz
  • Torii Hunter
  • Vernon Wells
  • Shane Victorino

These individuals actively engaged with children facing challenging circumstances, organising programs and establishing foundations to improve their lives.

In addition to these exceptional athletes, other prominent figures in MLB who have been honoured with the Branch Rickey Award include:

  • Craig Biggio
  • Albert Pujols
  • Clayton Kershaw
  • Curtis
  • Granderson

Each of these individuals has demonstrated unwavering dedication to their communities, utilizing their platform and resources to bring about positive change.

It is important to note that the list provided above is not exhaustive, and there may be additional winners of the Branch Rickey Award who have made significant contributions to their communities and beyond.